On the closing night and in front of a home crowd Great Britain won silver in the women’s 4x400m and bronze in the men’s race to secure a fourth British relay medal in 24 hours at the World Championships.

The women’s relay race was up first and from the off it was clear gold belonged to the American team.

With the USA team running their own race, it was battle for second with the British quartet more than a match for the task with Eilidh Doyle running a strong third leg before Emily Diamond held off a late surge from Poland’s Justyna Swiety, to clinch silver.

The dominant USA team that featured Allyson Felix and 400m individual world champion Phyllis Francis, won gold in a world leading time of 3:19.02.

The GB quartet of Zoey Clark, Laviai Nielsen, Eilidh Doyle and Emily Diamond crossed the line in 3:25.00.

Felix has now won a staggering eleven world gold medals, while it was Britain’s seventh world medal in seven championships.

The Polish team sealed bronze in a season’s best 3:25.41.

It was a déjà vu moment for Jamaica Anneisha McLaughlin-Whilby pulled up mid race in a similar fashion to Usain Bolt on Saturday in the 4x100m men’s final.

Thanks to incredible anchor leg from Lalonde Gordon, the Trinidad & Tobago men’s team pipped the USA by 0.49 seconds to win the 4x400m relay gold in 2:58.12, a world leading time. 

It was a season’s best performance from the British men, with the quartet of Matthew Hudson-Smith, Dwayne Cowan, Rabah Yousif and Martyn Rooney running home in 2:59:00 to win bronze.

At the end of the World Championships the USA finish top of the table with an astounding 30 medals, while five medals in 24 hours brings Britain’s medal count to an impressive six in total at this year’s World Championships.

Earlier in the evening, Kenyan duo Elijah Manangoi and Timothy Cheruiyot made it a one-two for the African nation in the men’s 1500m. Manangoi won gold in 3:33.61 just holding off his compatriot by 0.38.

Filip Ingebrigtsen the second oldest brother from the famous Norwegian family clinched bronze.

GB’s Chris O’Hare give it his all, but finished twelve, crossing the line in 3:38.28.