Rory O’Connor and Katie Kirk ran the fastest parkrun times in Ireland this weekend (29th February).

The 2019 Munster Indoor 3000m champion Rory O’Connor ran the fastest parkrun time in Ireland yesterday with 15:37 at St Anne’s. It was a parkrun best for the North Cork AC man who finished 2nd at the recent Adare 10km in 30:39.

Middle distance specialist Katie Kirk was the fastest woman this week with 17:44 at Belfast Victoria. A busy year of 800m racing in 2019 saw the Queens University athlete set a PB of 2:03.46 at the Morton Games International in August.

Mark McKinstry ran 15:38 at Sixmilewater to finish as the 2nd fastest man at parkrun in Ireland this weekend. A bronze medallist at last week’s Northern Ireland & Ulster Senior XC Championships, McKinstry has picked up wins at the Northern Ireland & Ulster Masters’ XC Championships (V40) and Mathieson Shield & Cup XC since the run of the year.

Annette Kealy was back in the top 10 parkrun times this week with 17:52 at Malahide. Kealy won the V50 Irish Life Health National Masters XC Championship earlier in February. The barrister holds world and european masters titles on the road, track and cross country.

David Scanlon was the 3rd fastest man running 16:02 at Tymon. Scanlon who has run for Ireland as an u23, ran 24:15 at the Raheny 5 in January and finished 5th at the Leinster Senior XC Championships in November.

Aoife Kilgannon made it three women sub 18 minutes as she was first back overall in 17:58 setting a new course record at Sligo. Kilgannon finished 2nd at the Cara Bundoran 10k in 2019 in 38:27.


Men’s top 10

1) parkrun: St Anne’s
Rory O’Connor, 15:37
2) parkrun: Sixmilewater
Mark McKinstry, 15:38, North Belfast Harriers
3) parkrun: Tymon
David Scanlon, 16:02, Rathfarnham WSAF
4) parkrun: Royal Canal
Alexander Wallace, 16:22, St. Cocas AC
5) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Connor Curran, 16:30, North Belfast
6) parkrun: Mullingar 
Lorcan Mullen, 16:36, Mullingar Harriers
7) parkrun: Poolbeg
Joseph O’Donoghue, 16:48
8) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Niell Weir, 16:52, Willowfield
9) parkrun: Poolbeg
Damien Bourke, 16:55
10) parkrun: Tolka Valley 
Paul Fleming, 17:03, Rathfarnham WSAF

Women’s top 10

1) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Katie Kirk, 17:44, Queens University AC
2) parkrun: Malahide
Annette Kealy, 17:52, Raheny Shamrock AC
3) parkrun: Sligo
Aoife Kilgannon, 17:58
4) parkrun: Ormeau
Leann Gibson, 19:04, Victoria Park and Connswater AC
5) parkrun: Castlewellan
Anna Gardiner, 19:06, East Down AC
6) parkrun: Tymon
Amy Moran, 19:08, Dundrum South Dublin Athletic Club
7) parkrun: Tolka Valley
Ilona McElroy, 19:09, Crusaders Athletic Club
8) parkrun: Poolbeg
Eimear O’Connor, 19:19, Sligo AC
9) parkrun: Stormont
Emer McKee, 19:30, Willowfield Harriers
=10) parkrun: Derry City
Cara Laverty, 19:31, City of Derry AC
=10) parkrun: Valley
Catherine Diver, 19:31

If you would like to run faster at parkrun, top tips to help runners of all abilities can be found here.

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us and become a patron. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you