The beauty of November is all the different types of racing and Lindie Naughton has us covered on all fronts. 

Fiona Everard of Bandon AC and Cormac Dalton from Mullingar Harriers took the senior titles at the All-Ireland Cross-Country Championships in Gowran, Co Kilkenny this afternoon (Nov 19th).

On a 9km course that the recent rain had turned into a mud bath, the women were up first with Everard, along with Mary Mulhare of Portlaoise AC, Tullamore’s Danielle Donegan, and Fionnula Ross of Armagh AC pushing the pace until midway through the race when Everard took over in front and pulled away.

She crossed the line in 36 mins 32 secs to win by over a half minute from Mulhare in 37:09 and Donegan, who was also first U23, in 37:10.

With four finishers in the top sixteen, Dublin City Harriers successfully defended the team title they had won in 2022 for the first time in twenty years. Edel Monaghan in ninth place was first home for the team.

First national title for Dalton

In an absorbing battle for the men’s title, Cormac Dalton of Mullingar Harries took his first national title, holding off the challenge of Kevin Mulcaire of Ennis TC. Just two seconds separated the pair who finished in 31 mins 8 secs an 31:10. A close third in 30:14 was Hugh Armstrong of Ballina AC.

In a tight battle for the team title, North Belfast Harriers, which last won the title in 1922, and Kilkenny City Harriers both finished on 72 points with Kilkenny winning the title on count back. Making ups the team were Peter Lynch eighth, Eoin Everard 15th, Cathal O’Reilly 24th and Brian Maher 25th.

Taking the men’s U20 title was Niall Murphy of Ennis Track Club after defending champion Nicholas Griggs of Belfast Candour Club dramatically dropped out in the later stages of the 5km race.

In a close finished to the women’s U20 race, Anna Gardiner of East Down AC beat Finn Valley’s Amy Greene in the chase for the line.

All business in Tymon Park

A day earlier, Sean Doran and Laura McDonnell were the winners at the Eir BHAA 6km Cross-Country held in Tymon Park, Dublin on Saturday (November 18).

Doran, representing Harrier Products, finished in a solid time of 21 mins 8 secs, with Paul Fleming (Ornua) second in 21:25 and David O’Connor third in 21:31. In fourth place Des Kennedy was also first M50 in 21:36.

O’Donnell, who was 14th overall, clocked a time of 22:50 Laura Cullen (Irish Life) was second in 24:43 and Rachel Yorke (Accountants A) third in 25:32.

In the team competition, Irish Life won men’s grade 1 from the Gardai; Uisce Eireann was first in grade 2 and Revenue best in grade 3. Next BHAA race is the Irish Life 6km crosss- ountry at Santry on Saturday November. These are the best value races around – sign up at


At the NCAA Championships, in Charlottesville, Virginia on Saturday (November 18), Sophie O’Sullivan of Ballinamore Cobh AC finished 56th in the women’s 6km race, with her Washington State team eighth.

Michael Morgan of Sligo AC for Providence College was 99th in the men’s 10km with a time of 30:33.1, closely followed by his team mate Abdel Laadjel of Donore Harriers 106th in 30:35.7.

Photo: Lindie Naughton

Dean Casey of Ennis TC, running for Tennessee, was 151st in 31:04 and Sean Kay of Clonliffe Harriers for Yale 177th in 31:21. Around 250 had qualified for each race.

In Jopling, Missouri, at the NCAA Division 2 Championships, Ava O’Connor of Tullamore Harriers running for Adams State finished 17th in 20: 25.5 helping her team to second place.


At the Clontarf Half Marathon and 5-Mile in Dublin on Saturday (November 18) , organised by Bear Races, Anthony O’Brien in 70 mins 34 secs and Becky Woods in 81:29 were the winners in the half marathon. First home in the 5-Mile was John Paul Williamson in 25:45 with Sive Duncan the first woman in 33:53. Between the two races there were 3,944 finishers.

Winners of the Annagassan 10km in Co Louth on Saturday were Declan Toal of North East Runners,also first M50,in 32mins 49 secs and Aine Cotter in 36:17.

Also on Saturday, John Kinsella (Bilboa AC) was the winner of the Churchtown 10-Mile in Co Cork with a time of 54 mins 4 secs. First woman in 65:44 was Niamh Cronin (St Finbarr’s AC).

A day later, Niall Shanahan and Nadine Forde came out on top at the Clearstream BHAA Marc O’Sullivan Memorial 5km, held at Marina, Cork on Sunday (November19).

Shanahan running for the Department of Education was a clear winner in 15mins 17 secs. His teammate Aidan Noone was second in 16:04, with Anthony Mannix of Dell Technologies third in 16:09.

Forde, for the HSE, finished in 18:07. She was followed home by Irene Eighan of Sterling in 19:43 and guest runner Fiona Riordan in 19:48. First team in men’s grade A was Uisce Eireann, with Sterling first of the women. A total of 475 completed the race.

James Dolan of An Riocht ACwas the winner of the Noreen McCarthy Memorial 10-Mile in Skibbereen, Co Cork also on Sunday in 55 mins 43 secs. Nollaig O’Neill was first woman in 65:55.


Irish mountain running international Killian Mooney of Dundrum South Dublin AC was the winner of the annual Run the Line 26km, which started and finished at Glencullen Adventure Park on Saturday (November 18).

Mooney finished the tough route around Three Rock, Fairy Castle and neighbouring peaks in 1 hr 52 mins 50 secs. Second – and the only other runner to break two hours – was Matthew McConnell in 1:55.06. Third in 2:02.46 was Andrew Tees.

First woman was Elizabeth Wheeler in 2:25.20. Rosie Temple was second in 2:29.52 and Emily Ryan third in 2:30.31.

Alex Gray was a clear winner of the shorter 13km race in 49 mins 14. Second in 53:13 was Marc Fitzachary while third was Barry Minnock in 55:49. Clocking 63 mins 10 secs to finish first woman was Niamh Murphy. Kim Hickey in 65:26 was second and Jennifer Algar third in 66:08. The race is a fundraiser for the the Dublin and Wicklow Mountain Rescue team.


At the Cardiff Cross Challenge on Saturday Noevmerb 11, Fearghal Curtin of Youghal AC and Pontypridd Roadents AC finished fifth in the elite men’s mile in 4:40.

Northern Ireland’s Hannah Irwin of Cambridge and Coleridge AC won the women’s mile in 5:19. In the women’s 6.4m cross-country, Mary Mulhare of Portlaoise AC was 17th.