Íde Nic Dhomhnaill of West Limerick AC continued her exceptional year with victory in the women’s 6km at the Autumn Open Cross-Country at Abbotstown on Sunday (October 15).

Nic Dhomhnaill, who won the Irish 5000m title a few months back, and Grace Carson of Mid-Ulster AC had pushed the paced from the start with English visitor Tia Wilson and junior athlete Charlotte Penneman from Belgium leading the chasers.

As the race went on, Carson lost momentum and with Nic Dhomhnaill heading for a clear win in 20 mins 38 secs, the battle was on for the minor placings.

In the chase for the line, Leevale AC’s Louise Shanahan used her 800m speed to pass Nadine Donegan of Tullamore Harriers with Nakita Burke of Letterkenny AC third. Just three seconds separated them – Shanahan finished in 20:53, Donegan a second behind in 20:54 and Burke in 20:56. A close fifth in 21.00 was Aoife O Cuill of St Coca’s AC with Wilson sixth in 21:02.

Charlotte Penneman was first junior in a time of 15:36 for the 4.5km distance. India Barwell from England was second in 15:40 and Avril Mellerick of Youghal AC third in 16:00. Winning the Dublin U18 title was Julie Cleary of Donore Harriers.

Photo: Lindie Naughton

The winter season commences

A clear winner of the men’s senior 8km race was Keelan Kilrehil of Moy Valley AC in 24 mins 27 secs. Pierre Murchan of Dublin City Harriers was second in 24:44, Finley Daly of Sligo AC, better known as a steeplechaser, third in 24:51, and Sean McGinley of Finn Valley AC a close fourth in 24:59.

First of the junior men was Niall Murphy of Ennis TC in 18:30, followed by Billy Coogan of Kilkenny City Harriers in 18:56 and Sean Lawton of Durrrus AC in 19:03. Fourth and first in the Dublin U18 Championships was Sean Cronin of Clonliffe Harriers in 19:11.

As has become traditional, the race was used as a trial for the annual British and Irish Masters International and Donegal athletes took three of the top four places in the women’s categories.
First home in 21 mins 35 secs was Noeleen Scanlon of Letterkenny AC who was also first W35.

Teresa Doherty of Finn Valley AC was second and first W45 in 22:02, Dymphna Ryan of Dundrum AC in Co Tipperary third and first W40 in 22:03, and Natasha Adams of Letterkenny AC fourth and second W45 in 22:16. Other age category winners were Breda Gaffney (Mallow AC) W50, Mari O’Sullivan Sligo AC W55, Niamh O’Sullivan (An Riocht AC) W60, Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) W65, Eileen Kenny (Athlone AC ) W70 and June Comiskey (Raheny Shamrock AC) W75.

Race of the day

Race of the day came in men’s masters 8km where Eoin Everard of Kilkenny City Harriers and East Cork’s Michael Harty battled it it from the start. In the end, Everard proved faster finishing in 25:12 and also first M35. Harty faded slightly on the final lap of four to finish in 25:28 and was first M40. Third and second M35 was Kenneth Rodgers of St John’s AC in 25:53 while fourth and second M40 was Colm Rooney of Clonliffe Harriers in 26:04.

Other category winners were Ciaran McGonagle (Letterkenny AC) M45, Declan Toal (North East Runners) M50, Paul Cowhie (Crusaders AC) M55, Willie O’Donoghue (Moreabbey Milers AC) M60, Tommy Payne (Tinryland AC) M65, Joe Gough (West Waterford AC) M70, Richard Mullins (St Abban’s AC) M75 and Joseph Stewart (Jog Lisburn) M80. Teams for the British and Irish International to be held at Tollcross Park, Glasgow, Scotland on Saturday November 11 will be announced in the next few days.

The mixed relay format grows in popularity

Earlier in the day, an open mixed relay race had taken place ten teams entered and Rathfarnham WSAF the winners in 18 mins 36 secs. Two Dublin City Harriers teams finished second and third with Lucan Harriers A fourth. The top two teams will travel to the European Club Cross-Country Championships early next year.

Winning the open 4km race was Adam Veighey of Naas AC in 14:16 with Aisling Smith of Dublin Front Runners first woman in 16:57.

Off the grass and onto the road

Aidan Noone and Lizzie Lee were the winners at the Defence Forces BHAA 5km, held at Tramore Valley Park, Cork, also on Sunday (October 15). Noone finished in 16 mins 2 secs – just six seconds ahead of his Department of Education team mate John Meade who was first M40 in 16:08.

Third in 16:37 was Michael Furlong of PwC. Lizzie Lee of Apple finished 12th and first woman in 17:05. Siobhan Hoare of Bons Secour was second Linda O’Connor of Musgrave third. Best of the A teams were the Dept of Ed men and the Bon Secour women.

On Saturday (October 14), Leevale AC’s Donal Coakley won the Bere Island 5-Mile on the Beara Peninsula in Co Cork by well over a minute in a time of 27 mins 45 secs. Second in 28:59 was Tommy Arthur of Kenmare AC, while third and first M50 was Patrick McCarthy in 31:47. First woman in 35:41 was Jade van de Venter. Siobhan Holland of Eagle AC was second in 36:13 and local runner Michelagh Murphy of Beara AC third in 36:53.

Winner of the An Cosantoir 10km for members of the armed forces in Dublin’s Phoenix Park on Wednesday (October 11) was Josh O’Sullivan-Hourihan, a member of Donore Harriers and an international orienteer, in 30 mins 27 secs. Kenneth Rodgers was second in 31:44 and Nathan O’Leary third in 32:02. Finishing twelfth and first woman was Elizabeth Carr in 36:14.

Mountain Running

After injury and illness played havoc with his season, Ireland’s top mountain runner Zak Hanna of Newcastle and District AC was in Agaete, Gran Canaria for the final Valsir Mountain Running World Cup.

In the Sky Vertical (4.65m, 860m) on Friday, he finished 13th in 20 mins 55 secs. On Sunday morning, he started the classic 21km race but was forced to retire after about 10km when he was lying 15th.

‘Last time I raced in the Canary Islands I was fifth in the European Championships, but I’m taking the positives from this weekend as it’s the best I have in a while during a race, and I’m looking forward to getting the head down for a big winter,’ he tweeted afterwards.


Keith Lane from Navan was the winner of the Wicklow Way Ultra – a 127 km ultra trail run along the Wicklow Way from from Clonegal in Co Carlow to Marlay Park in Dublin.

The race started at 9pm on Friday (October 13)  night with Lane, a clear winner,  reaching the finish  13 hours 22 mins 58 secs later. Second in 14:24.05 was Sean Meehan, with Stephen Mangan third in 14:52.27. First woman in 16:44.34 was Lianne van Dijk. Of the seventy starters, fifty finished.