Laura Muir, Ben Connor and newly crowned European Cross Country U20 champion Harriet Knowles-Jones are among those selected for the British team for the Great Edinburgh XCountry.

Lining-up alongside the trio for the January 13 cross country event are Emelia Gorecka, Jess Judd, Dewi Griffiths and Andy Vernon.

Muir once again leads the British quartet for the senior mixed relay making her fourth successive appearance and is yet to be beaten in the event.

Alongside Muir, Alex Bell – one of nine British senior debutants in the team – is joined by Adam Clarke and Tom Marshall; the latter anchored the British team to the first ever European Cross Country Championships gold at the weekend.

Gorecka, who won the senior women’s race in 2015, is joined in the senior women’s team by fellow European team gold medallist Elle Vernon and the U20 Champion Knowles-Jones. Judd, a U23 bronze medalist in Samorin also makes the team.

Connor headlines the senior men’s team and is joined by Griffiths and Vernon. Also included in the team is British debutants last weekend Sam Stabler and Alex Teuten.

Four European cross team gold medallists star in the U20 women’s race – Phoebe Barker, Niamh Brown, Cari Hughes and Khahisa Mhlanga.

The highest placed finisher in the U20 men’s race on Sunday, Matthew Willis, leads the U20 men’s entries for the British team.

The European team was announced on Wednesday 14 December and features Fionnuala McCormack amongst others.

Senior Women
Katie Bingle, Philippa Bowden, Emelia Gorecka, Amy Griffiths, Jess Judd, Harriet Knowles-Jones, Phoebe Law, Mhairi MacLennan and Elle Vernon.

Senior Men
Ben Connor, Patrick Dever, Nick Goolab, Dewi Griffiths, Mahamed Mahamed, Chris Olley, Sam Stabler, Alex Teuten and Andy Vernon

Senior Mixed Relay
Alex Bell, Adam Clarke, Tom Marshall and Laura Muir

U20 Women
Phoebe Barker, Niamh Brown, Cari Hughes, Khahisa Mhlanga, Eloise Walker and Erin Wallace

U20 Men
Jake Heyward, Ricky Lutakome, Tom Mortimer, Hugh Sadler, Lachlan Wellington and Matthew Willis