Craig Simpson and Sarah MacMahon are your quickest parkrunners in Ireland this weekend (June 8th).

Craig Simpson of Foyle Valley AC ran the fastest parkrun in Ireland this weekend with 16:28 at Derry City. Simpson who has a parkrun best of 16:05 ran 2:39 at this year’s London Marathon and finished 4th at the Larne Half Marathon in March.

Sarah MacMahon was this week’s fastest female runner. The Irish international mountain runner ran the 18:12 at Griffeen parkrun. MacMahon is a previous winter of the Snowdon International Mountain Race and finished 52nd in last years World Mountain Running Championships.

On a week when times were generally a little slower Alexander Wallace was the second fastest male runner with 16:32 at Royal Canal in a time that saw him just shy of his parkrun best of 16:28. Annette Kealy ran 18:19 at Malahide and shared this week’s second fastest spot with Niamh Clifford who ran the same time at Killarney. Kealy will be a familiar name to many readers with a 5,000m best of 16:29 set back in 2003.

Leann Gibson is a regular name in the Irish parkrun top 10 and was this week’s fourth fastest female runner with 18:55 set at Belfast Victoria.

London based runners Bryn Reynolds and Martin Rutter were the first two runners home at Malahide parkrun this week to finish third and fourth fastest males. Reynolds recently ran his fastest 10km in seven years with 33:28 at Vitality 10,000m, where Clapham Chaser Rutter also ran 34:10.

Men’s top 10
1) parkrun: Derry City
Craig Simpson, 16:28, Foyle Valley AC
2) parkrun: Royal Canal, Kilcock
Alexander Wallace, 16:32, St. Cocas AC
3) parkrun: Malahide
Bryn Reynolds, 16:38, Herne Hill Harriers
4) parkrun: Malahide
Martin Rutter, 16:51, Clapham Chasers RC
5) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Paul Carroll, 16:54, Annadale Striders
6) parkrun: Castlewellan
David O’Flaherty, 16:55, Newcastle & District AC
7) parkrun: Ormeau
Lochlainn Connelly, 16:59, Belfast Running Club
8) parkrun: Waterstown
Josh O’Sullivan-Hourihan, 17:04, Donore Harriers
9) parkrun: River Valley
Ciaran McCarthy, 17:06
10) parkrun: New Ross
Brendan Lyng, 17:08, United Striders AC

Women’s top 10
1) parkrun: Griffeen
Sarah MacMahon, 18:12, Dundrum South Dublin Athletic Club
=2) parkrun: Malahide
Annette Kealy, 18:19, Raheny Shamrock AC
=2) parkrun: Killarney
Niamh Clifford, 18:19, Star of the Laune AC
4) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Leann Gibson, 18:55, Victoria Park and Connswater AC
5) parkrun: Belfast Victoria
Marina Campbell, 19:00, City of Derry AC
6) parkrun: Wallace
Karen Wilton, 19:08, Jog Lisburn
7) parkrun: Marlay
Sarah Baryga, 19:24
8) parkrun: Citypark
Elaine Eadie, 19:25, Edinburgh AC
9) parkrun: Ballincollig parkrun
Claire O’Brien, 19:26, Watergrasshill AC
10) parkrun: Malahide
Eimear Griffin, 19:28, Clonliffe Harriers A.C.

If you would like to run faster at parkrun, top tips to help runners of all abilities can be found here.

RELATED: 7 ways to run faster at parkrun

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us and become a patron. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.