The duo claims the senior wins as Darragh McElhinney and Emma O’Brien clinch the U20 titles in Abbottstown.

Irish national cross country champion Shona Heaslip and Clonmel’s Sean Tobin won the senior races at the Autumn Open International Cross Country at the Sport Ireland National Sports Campus in Abbottstown on Sunday (October 21).

An Riocht’s Heaslip was pleased she made the journey up from Kerry to defend the race she won last year covering the 6000m distance in 20:05.

It was a top performance ahead of Scotland’s Mhairi McLennan who was second in 20:12, with Armagh AC’s Fionnuala Ross third in 20:22.

Sean Tobin headed a strong showing by Clonmel AC storming to the win in the senior men’s 7500m race in 21:45.

Raheny Shamrock’s Kevin Dooney, who features on Fast Running as part of the Fast 10: class of 2018, finished second in 22:21 ahead of Kevin Maunsell of Clonmel in third in a time of 22:25.

William Maunsell finished sixth overall for three Clonmel runners to be in the top six for a strong team showing ahead of the Irish Life Health National Cross on November 25.

They will be on the hunt for a strong fourth man to threaten the main two clubs in the last number of years – Raheny Shamrock and Clonliffe Harriers.

Finn Valley’s Teresa McGloin was first female master across the line, and first F40, in 21:02 with Fiona Kehoe of Kilmore AC next and first F35 in 21:47.

The next age group winners were Jackie Carthy of Kilmore in the F45, Annette Kealy of Raheny Shamrock in the F50, An Riocht’s Niamh O’Sullivan in the F55 Pauline Moran of Mayo AC in the F60, Margaret Glavey of Mayo AC in the F65 and Dundrum South Dublin’s Joan Coyle in the F70.

Emma O’Brien of Sli Cualann continued her fine form to win the women’s U20 race over 4500m in 15:45. Mia McCalmont of Tir Chonaill was second in 16:07, with Bandon’s Laura Nicholson third in 16:11.

Brian Maher of Kilkenny City Harriers headed the men’s masters’ field and was first M40 in 23:29 with Colm Rooney of Clonliffe Harriers second across the line and first M35 in 23:42.

The next leading masters were Shane O’Neill of Rathfarnham first M45 in 24:36, Shane Healy of Metro/St Brigid’s first M50 in 24:14 and Sli Cualann’s Mick Byrne was first M55.

Martin McDonald of Ballyroan, Abbeyleix & District was first M60, Paul Elliott of Beechmount Harriers first M65, Tom Hunt of Mayo first M70, Mike Duggan of Annalee first M75 and James Bennett of Clonliffe Harriers first M80.

Bantry’s Darragh McElhinney Bantry ran a brave race to try and hang in with the seniors and dominated the U20 men’s 6000m race in 18:05 ahead of Sean O’Leary of Clonliffe Harriers in second in 18:19 and Jamie Battle of Mullingar Harriers in third in 18:25.

At the Great South Run in Portsmouth, Kevin Seaward impressed to finish fifth overall.

The Irish international marathoner clocked a personal best 48:41 over the 10-mile course, finishing less than two minutes behind race winner Chris Thompson.

RELATED: How I train: Kevin Seaward

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.