The ethos of parkrun is not about fast times, however, that doesn’t stop plenty of runners chasing PB’s every week. Here are the top 10 men and women from the North and South of Ireland on Saturday (January 27 ).

While there was one ‘unknown’ 15:51 time at the Malahide parkrun in Dublin this weekend, Fast Running excludes those from the top 10 lists.

The fastest runner on Saturday was Dominic McAllister with a parkrun best of 16:40 at the Waterworks in Belfast. McAllister has completed 42 parkruns and since 2012 has reduced his time from 18:58 to this weekend’s 16:40.

Is this the same Dominic McAllister, who as part of a St. Malachy’s College quartet, broke the junior 4x1500m world record in 1999?

North Belfast Harrier Kent Swann was three seconds behind McAllister and number two across the island of Ireland. In fact, the men’s top 10 was heavily populated by Northern Irish runners, with seven in total and six from parkruns in Belfast. The first man from the South of Ireland was Brian Murphy in 16:45 at Tramore parkrun.

It was a different story in the women’s top 10, with Malahide parkrun in Dublin heavily represented. Annette Kealy was the fastest on the day with 18:10 and the Raheny Shamrock’s runner finished first overall.

Kealy, who has ran 58 parkruns, was followed nine seconds later in Malahide by Donore Harrier Sinead Lambe in 18:19.

Rachel Gibson was the fastest in Northern Ireland on Saturday. The North Down runner clocked 18:23 at the Queen’s parkrun in Belfast to finish fifth overall.

Top 10 men

1) parkrun: Waterworks, Belfast
Dominic McAllister, 16:40, unattached
2) parkrun: Waterworks, Belfast
Kent Swann, 16:43, North Belfast Harriers
3) parkrun: Tramore, Waterford
Brian Murphy, 16:45, Carrick Aces A.C.
4) parkrun: Derry City, Derry
Matt Doherty, 16:45, Derry City Track Club
5) parkrun: Victoria Park, Belfast
Alex Donald, 16:58, North Down AC
6) parkrun: St Anne’s, Dublin
Graham O’Dwyer, 16:59, Raheny Shamrock AC
7) parkrun: Queen’s, Belfast
Peter Carty, 16:59, Lagan Valley AC
8) parkrun: Waterworks, Belfast
Tom Magee, 17:00, East Antrim Harriers AC
9) parkrun: Victoria Park, Belfast
Adam Ferguson, 17:02, North Down AC
10) parkrun: Gorey, Wexford
Myles Gibbons, 17:07, Sliabh Buidhe Rovers A.C.

Top 10 women

1) parkrun: Malahide, Dublin
Annette Kealy, 18:10, Raheny Shamrock AC
2) parkrun: Malahide, Dublin
Sinead Lambe, 18:19, Donore Harriers
3) parkrun: Queen’s, Belfast
Rachel Gibson, 18:23, North Down AC
4) parkrun: Malahide, Dublin
Erin McHugh, 18:47, unattached
5) parkrun: Clarisford, Clare
Ailbhe McDaid, 19:19, unattached
6) parkrun: Marlay, Dubin
Paula Grant, 19:22, Portlaoise AC
7) parkrun: Marlay, Dublin
Sharon Grant, 19:23, Portlaoise AC
8) parkrun: MUSA Cookstown, Tyrone
Leanne Sands, 19:39, Acorns AC
9) parkrun: Malahide, Dublin
Amanda Maher Owen, 19:53, unattached
10) parkrun: Claremorris, Mayo
Eimear O’Leary, 19:57, unattached