A team of 14 has been selected to represent Great Britain and Northern Ireland at the World Mountain Running Championships (up and down) which take place in Villa La Angostura, Argentina on Friday 15 November 2019.

Among those securing their place on the team are multiple World & European medallist Sarah Tunstall (Kendal), 2016 European champion, Emmie Collinge (Alta Valtellina) and 2017 world bronze medallist and 2019 European senior men’s and junior men’s champions, Jacob Adkin (Robbie Simpson; Keswick) and Joe Dugdale (Copeland).

Tunstall, who was fourth at the recent European Champs in Zermatt, leads the senior women’s team alongside Collinge which sees the experienced medallists joined by Phillipa Williams (Sheffield RC) and Heidi Davies (U.S. Malonno).

Williams will make her debut for Great Britain & Northern Ireland following a solid performance at the trials where she finished second. Meanwhile, Davies, a junior bronze medallist from the 2016 European championships, completes the quartet.

Admin en route to winning the European Uphill Championships in July. Photo: Robbie Britton

A strong men’s team, but only three

After his European success earlier this year, Adkin will be a contender once again in the senior men’s race. Andrew Douglas (Sophie Dunnett; Inverclyde), winner of the trials, will go into the championship in supreme form having already secured the World Mountain Running Association (WMRA) World Cup title with one race to spare.

Following injury, Joe Steward (Harry Kelly; East Cheshire) makes his comeback appearance after a second-place finish at the trials in Wales last weekend.

It’s a shame there is only three men named in the squad as it takes three to score and the men’s senior team, that consisted of Adkin, Douglas and Robbie Simpson, are the current European Champions. Steward can be a strong third counter, but a bit of insurance to support the stand out pair of Adkin and Douglas would give a higher chance of medals.

Junior mountain running looking strong

European champion Joe Dugdale spearheads a strong junior men’s team which includes fellow European team gold-medallist, Matthew Mackay (Steve Duxbury; Rossendale). Joe Hudson (Alan Buckley; Keighley & Craven) and Matthew Knowles (Lancaster & Morecambe) will make their first appearances for GB & NI.

In the junior women’s team, trials winner Lauren Dickson (Andrew Henderson; Lasswade) joins debutant Eden O’Dea (Deeside), and Eve Pannone (Derek Hurton; Eden Runners) – the highest placed Briton at the European championships earlier this year – as the trio to face the best in the world.

A word from the management

Team Leader, Anne Buckley, said:

“This year’s championship in Patagonia are going to provide a unique challenge to all teams, so I am pleased to have selected such a strong British team who are contenders for the top positions, both individually and as a team.

“The team includes several athletes who have previously won individual and team medals on the world and European stage, so they have experience of the championship environment which is invaluable. For the debutants, they have earned their places on the team and demonstrated they are ready for this level of competition.”

The British Athletics team for the World Mountain Running Championships (up and down) in Villa La Angostura, Argentina on Friday 15 November 2019.

Senior men:

Jacob Adkin (Robbie Simpson; Keswick)

Andrew Douglas (Sophie Dunnett; Inverclyde)

Joe Steward (Harry Kelly; East Cheshire)

Senior women:

Emmie Collinge (Alta Valtellina)

Heidi Davies (U.S Malonno)

Sarah Tunstall (Kendal)

Phillipa Williams (Sheffield RC)

Junior men:

Joe Dugdale (Copeland)

Joe Hudson (Alan Buckley; Keighley & Craven)

Matthew Knowles (Lancaster & Morecambe)

Matthew Mackay (Steve Duxbury; Rossendale)

Junior women:

Lauren Dickson (Andrew Henderson; Lasswade)

Eden O’Dea (Deeside)

Eve Pannone (Derek Hurton; Eden Runners)

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.