The New Zealand Olympian joins Britain’s Jo Pavey at the latest British Milers’ Grand Prix event.

Nick Willis, a two-time Olympic medalist and former Commonwealth Games champion, will compete at the BMC Grand Prix in Loughborough on Saturday (June 23).

The 35-year-old middle-distance star won 1500m silver at the Beijing 2008 Olympics and eight years later picked up bronze in Rio. Willis also won world indoor bronze in 2016 and has three Commonwealth medals to his name, including gold at Melbourne 2006.

He leads the entries in an exciting men’s 800m A race where he will face Micheal Rimmer and 16 year-old Max Burgin. The teenager set an 800m world age best of 1:47.50 at the BMC Grand Prix opener in Manchester’s Sportcity last month. Willis boasts an 800m PB of 1:45.54 from 2004 and this year has a season’s best of 1:51.17.

RELATED: Max Burgin runs fastest ever 800m by a 15 year-old

Photo: Pete Brown

Also set to start is Ireland’s John Fitzsimons, who won bronze at the European U20 Championships last year, Jamie Williamson, winner of the U23 1500m title at the England U20/U23 Championships last weekend and Daniel Rowden, the European under-23 silver medalist.

2014 European champion Pavey will be joined in the women’s 5000m race by Mhairi MacLennan, Northern Ireland’s 5000m and 10,000m record holder Emma Mitchell, and BUCS 5000m silver medalist Philippa Bowden.

The excitement shouldn’t end there and other notable names expected for the third GP event include Jess Judd, Claire Duck, Kate Avery, Stephie Pennycook, Emily Hosker-Thornhill and Amelia Quirk in the women’s 1500m event.

In the women’s 800m Lynsey Sharp will get ready for next weekend’s British Championships against Khahisa Mhlanga, Sweden’s Lovisa Lindh and Ireland’s Ciara Everard.

John Travers is the fastest entered for the men’s 1500m. In February, the 3:37 man became the first Irish athlete to run an indoor sub-4 mile in Ireland. Fellow Irish athlete Kieran Kelly makes the trip across to Loughborough with Josh Carr and Andrew Heyes set to race too.

The leading name in the men’s 5000m A race is Norway’s Per Svela, who has a PB of 13:41. Luke Caldwell, Abel Tsegay, Ollie Lockley, Jack Gray, Ben Bradley are also among the entries.

The action gets underway at 5pm and will be streamed live on Vinco.