Ciara Mageean, Mark English, Thomas Barr and Phil Healy are among the 16 athletes set for Glasgow next month.

Athletics Ireland has named a team of 16 athletes for the European Indoor Championships in Glasgow from March 1-3.

Ciara Mageean, Mark English, Thomas Barr, Phil Healy and Sean Tobin are among the team that has a strong blend of experience and championship debuts.

Healy is ranked fourth in the women’s 400m with Mageean and English (1500m and 800m) both ranked fifth on the European Indoor lists.

English, who won European indoor silver four years ago in Prague, has been in excellent form winning his sixth national indoor title at the weekend.

Mageean has also showed her class in recent weeks and won the women’s national 3000m title on Saturday after setting an Irish indoor mile record last week.

Photo: Athletics Ireland / Sportsfile

Olympian Barr and Cillin Greene have been selected for the 400m, while Tobin, who features in the Fast 10: class of 2019, will race in the 3000m alongside Irish champion John Travers.

There are senior debuts on the women’s side for Molly Scott and Lauren Roy in the 60m, Sophie Becker in the 400m and world U20 silver medallist Sommer Lecky in the high jump.

It’s a good step up for the U20 athletes with three members of the women’s world 4x100m silver medal-winning team running in the 60m with Ciara Neville also an individual qualifier.

Joseph Ojewumi in the 60m and Conall Kirk in the 800m make track debuts, while Siofra Cleirigh Buttner has been selected for the women’s 800m.

“This is a strong Irish team that is primed to put in a performance at this championship,” said High Performance Director Paul McNamara. “Our more high profile athletes have had stellar seasons to date with Ciara, Phil, Mark, Siofra and Thomas very well placed on the European ranking lists.

“This event will provide an excellent transitioning opportunity for our talented crop of 2018 U20s such as Molly, Ciara, Lauren and Sommer while emerging athletes like Joseph Ojewumi, Cillin Greene and Sophie Becker have shown exciting form this season to earn their spots. This will be a good championships for Irish athletics.”

RELATED: Ciara Mageean and Phil Healy among winners at Irish indoors

Women’s selection

60m: Molly Scott (SLOT), Lauren Roy (City of Lisburn), Ciara Neville (Emerald)
400m: Phil Healy (Bandon), Sophie Becker (St Joseph’s)
800m: Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (DSD)
1500m: Ciara Mageean (UCD)
High jump: Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley)

Men’s selection

60m: Joseph Ojewumi (Tallaght)
400m: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank), Cillin Greene (Galway City Harriers)
800m: Mark English (UCD), Zak Curran (DSD), Conall Kirk (Annadale Striders)
3000m: John Travers (Donore Harriers), Sean Tobin (Clonmel)

Meanwhile, the British team of 48 athletes for Glasgow was also named and can be found here.

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.