As the start-lists ahead of this coming weekend’s Muller Anniversary Games go live, teenage sensation Jakob Ingebrigtsen has been named in the 5000m, alongside Scottish record holder Andrew Butchart.

Aged just 18, Ingebrigsten set the world alight last year as he won double European gold over 1500m and 5000m. Racing over 5000m this coming weekend, competition to the Norwegian in London will be stiff as he faces some of the quickest in the world this year including Hagos Gebrhiwet of Ethiopia who is third quickest in the world this year.

Six Brits will tow the line including Scottish record holder Andrew Butchart, close to his personal best already this year in Rome and will be aiming to go one better in front of a home crowd. There is also exciting names such as Ben Connor, Alex Yee, Marc Scott and Nick Goolab on the entry list.

In such an exciting race it will be good to see some of the best British runners performing in front of a home crowd.

Photo: Keith McClure

The women’s race also stacked

Just like the male equivalent, the women’s 5000m has rose in stock thanks to the confirmation of Sifan Hassan in the race. Hassan is the 3000m and 5000m European record holder as well as the new world record holder for the mile after a blistering race in Monaco last Friday.

Having enjoyed such a stellar year already and clearly in the form of her life, Hassan could be in shape to break her own European record, while if conditions are favourable in London the 26-year-old could also eye Tirunesh Dibaba’s world record of 14:11.15 from 2008.

The 5000m race is also packed with British talent such as Rosie Clarke, Eilish McColgan, Charlotte Arter, Melissa Courtney and Laura Weightman, who narrowly missed the British Mile record in the very same race as Hassan broke the world record.

The Müller Anniversary Games takes place just ten weeks before the IAAF World Championships in Doha.

The two-day Diamond League event has seen history made on numerous occasions in recent years, with some memorable performances from British names such as Sir Mo Farah, Laura Muir and Dina Asher-Smith, while para athletics stars Kare Adenegan and Sophie Hahn both broke world records at the 2018 edition of the event.

Tickets for the Müller Anniversary Games are on sale at

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us and become a patron. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.