Jake Robertson, Daniel Wanjiru and Stanley Biwott to test Mo Farah this weekend.

Mo Farah will be looking to make it five wins in a row when he returns to Tyneside for the Simplyhealth Great North Run on Sunday (September 9), but it will not be a foregone conclusion as his competition includes Jake Robertson, Daniel Wanjiru and Stanley Biwott.

The ten-time Olympic and world champion became the first runner to win four consecutive times when he beat Jake Robertson on the iconic 13.1 mile course last year – and victory on Sunday will put him clear at the top of the roll of honour in the event’s history.

As revealed on Fast Running last Friday (August 31), New Zealander Robertson will return to line up against Farah once again on Sunday.

The 28-year-old has been in stellar form in 2018, including a New Zealand record-breaking marathon debut in Japan, followed by a superb 10k performance in New Orleans that equalled his twin brother’s national record.

Robertson came within a whisker of beating Farah a year ago, with the British 35-year-old having to produce one of his trademark sprint finishes to come home six seconds ahead of his suitor on the South Shields coast.

Daniel Wanjiru, who won the London Marathon in 2017, will take on Farah and Robertson on Tyneside, while 2012 New York Marathon winner Stanley Biwott has also been added to the field.

Commonwealth marathon champion Mike Shelley will make his debut at the world’s biggest half marathon on Sunday, while British interest will come in the shape of Andy Vernon, Jonny Mellor and Mohamud Aadan.

RELATED: Mo Farah clinches fourth Great North Run win

Men’s elite field (Subject to change)

1) Mo Farah
2) Daniel Wanjiru
3) Stanley Biwott
4) Jake Robertson
5) Mike Shelley
6) Naoya Takahashi
7) Hiroyuki Yamamoto
8) Scott Fauble
9) Scott Smith
10) Ryan Vail
11) Bashir Abdi
12) Mohamud Aadan
13) Pat Tiernan
14) Brett Robinson
15) Mohamed Ali
16) Andy Vernon
17) Jonny Mellor
18) Richard Weir
19) Ross Skelton
20) Dominic Shaw
21) Ryan Burling
22) Chris Sloane
23) Abdishakur Abdulle
24) Liam Rabjohn
25) Stuart Robinson
26) Luuk Metselaar
27) Michael Cayton
28) Martin Hoare
29) Chris Oddy
30) Nick McCormick
31) Karl Darcy
32) Tom Charlton
33) Gary Foster
34) Michael Coltherd
35) Jack Gray
36) Mark Long
37) Dan Kestrel
38) Sephen Blake
39) Rob Danson
40) Steven Bayton
41) Chris Madden

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us and become a patreon. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.