Dan Lawson, James Stewart and Tracy Dean are among the 12 strong British team.

A team of 12 athletes will represent Great Britain at the IAU 24 Hour World Championships in Albi, France over the weekend on October 26-27.

2016 IAU European 24-Hour Champion Dan Lawson leading a senior men’s team balanced between experienced internationals and those making their debut in a British vest.

Lawson has a personal best of 261.483 kilometres, and with his previous success at the major championship, he will be an integral part of the British contingent in France.

Steve Holyoak and James Stewart were part of the European silver medal-winning team in 2018, both contributing to the overall distance covered by the top three scorers.

Oman-based Holyoak has been part of British 24-hour squads since 2012, while Stewart was the second British scorer last year.

Alongside this trio will be three athletes making their debuts in the men’s team; Grant MacDonald, Paul Maskell and Michael Stocks.

Tracy Dean, Wendy Whearity [née Shaw] and Ali Young – all of whom were part of the European bronze medal winning team from 2018 – are once again in the British fold in a six-strong women’s squad.

With only those athletes finishing the women’s race in 2018 after injury and illness impacted upon the other squad members, the trio produced a special performance to claim a podium place and will be seeking to replicate their fine displays at the world edition later this year.

They are joined by Jess Baker, who holds the biggest personal best within the women’s team at 238.713km, so she will be one to watch in France.

Sam Amend and Sarah Morwood complete the team who will head out to Albi.

“We’ve been working on developing a strong squad over the past few performance cycles and that shows with one of the highest levels of applications we’ve ever seen,” said Team Leader John Pares. “The standard across the board was excellent and we’re really pleased with the teams we have selected for Albi 2019.”

Full GB team

Senior men: Steve Holyoak, Dan Lawson, Grant MacDonald, Paul Maskell, James Stewart and Michael Stocks.

Senior women: Sam Amend, Jess Baker, Tracy Dean, Sarah Morwood, Wendy Whearity [née Shaw] and Ali Young.

RELATED: James Stewart – In 24-hour racing the team always comes first

Are you a fan of Fast Running? Then please support us and become a patreon. For as little as the price of a monthly magazine you can support Fast Running – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.